Keep your calm and look at the good sides

Standard

This morning I woke up already feeling grumpy. Not because I’d slept badly or anything like that. Just because I knew I had to get to work for a couple of hours this afternoon. It would break up completely my day, and annoyed me to hell.

Mostly I was also annoyed because I knew that my presence at the event this afternoon was absolutely superfluous, and the few hours lost there would feel even worse, because it was just a waste of time. Furthermore, I was supposed to be holding a coffee and cake gathering with some friends this afternoon, and going to town and work would make the preparation way more complicated. So the whole morning it was as if there were a grinch running around the kitchen, preparing stuff, shoving the kids out into the garden to be able to get the cakes done…

And on my way to work in the car, I suddenly thought to myself. Damned. You did it again. Let something that was no real catastrophe at all ruin your day just because you decided it would ruin your day.

It happens to me so often, I moan and complain about something I have to do that I don’t want to, and instead of getting it done, planning it into my schedule as there obviously is no way around it anyway, I let it put me in a bad mood. And all the other people around me unfortunately have to suffer as well.

Now as I had supposed, it was a complete waste of time. And yes, the kids have managed to mess up the kitchen and living room in the two hours I left (that I had mopped and cleaned yesterday till late in the evening). And yes, I should now be cleaning it all up, get the table ready.

But hey, the kids are happy, they’re building a fort with all the living room cushions and covers (half of the play kitchen is outside as well… oh but right now I see that the soccer ball is also making its way out which is actually a very good thing, rather than having it in my kitchen). And there’s still half of the day left, time left to write a little post for my blog, time to fix myself a coffee and eat some chocolate before my friends arrive, so : looking at the good side of life, after all, it IS weekend!

 

Leave a Reply

